Malay, a first-class Municipality is the tourism capital of the Province of Aklan. Located at the northwestern tip of Panay Island, it is bounded on the north by Sibuyan and Sulu Seas, on the east by the Municipality of Nabas, on the west by the Municipality of Buruanga and on the south by the Province of Antique. Having a total land area of 6,731 hectares, it is politically divided into 17 barangays.


Malay, Aklan - Acting Municipal Mayor of Malay, Hon. Frolibar S. Bautista invited the Municipal Mayor of Buruanga, Aklan, Hon, Concepcion Labindao for a meeting to discuss the cases of motorcycle accidents in Malay involving Buruanganon drivers.

To avoid further accidents, Acting Mayor Bautista proposed that single motorcycles from Buruanga will only be allowed to unload passengers in Barangay Poblacion of Malay only. Afterwards, tricycles from Malay will take these passengers to Caticlan.

Passengers going to Buruanga (from Kalibo) will go to Caticlan Plaza or a tricycle that will take them to the designated terminal in Barangay Poblacion.

Speed limit will also be strictly implemented along the national road within the jurisdiction of Malay.

The meeting was participated by Acting Municipal Vice Mayor of Malay, Hon. Niño Carlos F. Cawaling, Malay SB Member Nickie Cahilig, Senior Transportation Regulations Officer of Malay Mr. Cesar P. Oczon Jr., Malay Chief of Police PMAJ Jess P. Baylon, Buruanga SB Member Jerry F. Dagohoy, Malay Liga President Hon. Ralf Tolosa, as well as the different motorcycle operators in the municipalities of Malay and Buruanga.

The dry run for the new traffic scheme between Buruanga and Malay will kick-off on August 19, 2019 (Monday).

67404175 2901460313202356 1060601861184159744 n

The photo above shows the two Mayors of municipalities of Malay and Buruanga as presiding officers: Hon. Frolibar Bautista and Hon. Concepcion Labindao, respectively.