Malay, a first-class Municipality is the tourism capital of the Province of Aklan. Located at the northwestern tip of Panay Island, it is bounded on the north by Sibuyan and Sulu Seas, on the east by the Municipality of Nabas, on the west by the Municipality of Buruanga and on the south by the Province of Antique. Having a total land area of 6,731 hectares, it is politically divided into 17 barangays.

  Accessible by land to all the provinces in Panay Island, Malay is 76 road kilometres from Kalibo, the capital town of Aklan; 237 road kilometres from Iloilo City through air-conditioned buses and vans; 45 minutes air travel via commercial flight on a regular basis from Manila to Caticlan Airport; sea travel is approximately 12 hours from Manila to Caticlan or through RORO vessels Roxas, Oriental Mindoro.

 Founded on June 15, 1949 by virtue of Republic Act No. 381, Malay has a population of 45,811 in 2010 according to National Statistics Office, with a population growth rate of 6.45% and a population density of 680 per square kilometre.

Boracay Island, being the premier tourist destination of the Philippines, contributes largely to population increase with workers and entrepreneurs coming from neighboring towns, cities and provinces. The Local Government has proposed the conversion of Malay into a city. According to Resolution no. 066 series of 2010, the LGU has created an ADHOC Committee and Technical working group to conduct studies and evaluations for the proposed cityhood of the Municipality of Malay.

Basic Education is compulsory and the right of every Filipino.  Basic Education starts from Kinder to Grade 12. In the Municipality of Malay, public schools are broken down into three different levels such as Primary School, Elementary School and Secondary School (High School).  Primary Schools starts from Kinder up to Grade 4 only.  Elementary Schools also starts from Kinder but extend up to Grade 6.  Secondary Schools starts from Grade 7 up to Grade 12. 


Primary Schools are located in the Barangays of Napaan and Sambiray. There are numerous Elementary Schools in the Municipality which are present in the following Barangays: Argao, Balabag, Balusbos, Caticlan, Cubay Norte, Dumlog, Manocmanoc, Naasug, Nabaoy and Yapak. Secondary Schools or High Schools are present in the Barangays of Balabag, Manocmannoc, Motag and Yapak.  All the Schools are accessible by roads.

Madrasah is also present in Balabag and Manocmanoc Elementary School both on the Island of Boracay to cater our Muslim pupils.

There is no Higher Education Institution (College/University) in the Municipality.


For queries on how and what are the requirements to enroll your children, please go to the school nearest from your home.